The Bib’Art Collection

Lifestyle

The world’s largest barrel is at Château Puech-Haut

Its capacity of 300,000 litres and height of 12 metres, makes Barrik’Art the largest barrel in the world. It adds to the collection of records already amassed by Château Puech-Haut in Saint-Drézéry near Montpellier, which had previously launched Bib’Art, boxed IGP Pays d’Oc and AOC Languedoc wines turned into works of art by international painters, sculptors and artists.

Boxed wines turned into works of art by international artists

This innovative packaging format epitomises the passion for art of Gérard Bru, the winegrower and founder of Château Puech-Haut. Marketed since 2007, Bib’Art, a small painted sheet metal barrel the size of a 1.5, 3 or 5-litre bag-in-box, is a genuine reproduction of the estate’s famous collection of painted barrels, Barriqu’art.

It all started in 2000...

…when Gérard Bru dreamt up the idea of sending an oak barrel to one of his artist friends, whose task was to decorate it in the style of their choice, before returning it to the estate. The collection now includes more than 160 barrels by artists including Ben, Hervé Di Rosa and Robert Combas, but also the fashion designer Chantal Thomass and chef Paul Bocuse, who have signed their Barriqu’art, by covering the curvaceous barrels with works of art. They can be funny, sexy, sensual and collectible as a Bib’Art. Issued in limited, numbered editions, they hold white, red and rosé IGP Pays d’Oc wines and AOC Languedoc-Grés de Montpellier.

The originals, Barriqu’art, can also be admired in the central winery at Château Puech-Haut where they are on display. Only some of them, though, are housed at the winery as the Barriqu’art are sent around the world, to museums where they are regularly presented. Barrik’Art is displayed at the heart of the estate where it serves as a cellar door shop and tasting area.

C O N T A C T

Château Puech-Haut
2250, Route de Teyran à Saint-Drézéry
04 99 62 27 27

Sale and tasting in the cellar: Monday to Saturday 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Menu

The Bib’Art Collection

Art de vivre

La plus grosse barrique du monde est à château Puech-Haut

Sa contenance de 300 000 litres pour une hauteur de 12 mètres, en fait la plus grosse barrique du monde, le Barrik’Art. Un record de plus pour château Puech-Haut à Saint-Drézéry près de Montpellier, déjà à l’initiative des Bib’Art, des BIB de vins IGP Pays d’Oc et AOC Languedoc transformés en œuvres d’art par des artistes internationaux : peintres, sculpteurs, plasticiens…  

des BIB transformés en œuvres d’art par des artistes internationaux

Ce packaging innovant exprime la passion pour l’art de Gérard Bru, vigneron fondateur de château Puech-Haut. Commercialisé depuis 2007, le Bib’Art, petite barrique en tôle peinte de la dimension d’un Bag in Box de 1,5, 3 ou 5 litres, est la reproduction réelle de la célèbre collection de barriques peintes du domaine, les barriqu’art.

L’aventure a commencé en 2000...

…quand Gérard Bru a eu l’idée d’envoyer une barrique de chêne à l’un de ses amis artistes, qui devait l’habiller à sa guise avant de la retourner au domaine. La collection compte aujourd’hui plus de 160 fûts d’artistes : Ben, Hervé Di Rosa, Robert Combas, mais aussi la créatrice de mode Chantal Thomass ou le chef cuisinier Paul Bocuse ont signé leur Barriqu’art, en enveloppant les mensurations pulpeuses de ces fûts, d’œuvres peintes : rigolotes, sexy, voluptueuses, elles se collectionnent en Bib’Art, en série limitée et numérotée et contiennent des vins IGP Pays d’Oc blancs, rouges, rosés, ou des vins AOC Languedoc-Grès de Montpellier.

On peut aussi admirer les originaux, les barriqu’art, dans le chai central de Château Puech-Haut où elles sont exposées. Une partie seulement, car les barriqu’art font le tour du monde, dans les musées où elles sont régulièrement présentées. Le barrik’Art, lui, est installé au cœur du domaine où il fait office de caveau de vente et d’espace de dégustation.

C O N T A C T

Château Puech-Haut
2250, Route de Teyran à Saint-Drézéry
04 99 62 27 27

Vente et dégustation au caveau : du lundi au samedi 10h-12h et 14h-19h

Menu